Physical Pain Vs Mental Pain


Pain is suffering or discomfort but its meaning changes a lot when we break it in two very common words physical or mental.

Physical pain is an unpleasant sensory experience associated with actual or potential tissue damage, or described in terms of such damage. Mental pain, also called sometimes psychalgia, is any mental, or mind, or non-physical suffering. Mental pain is a particular kind of psychological pain, more closely related to emotions or feelings. We can consume painkillers to kill the muscular pain but no medicine is ever made to cure what we call mental pain.

Physical pain longs for few seconds, minutes, hours or can be said have a definite ending someday or the other but mental pain longing can’t be described in few seconds, minutes, and hours. No Doctor can ever tell about the life of mental pain. You always pray to God that please make this mental pain to end.

One can sympathize you when you are in physical pain and can say – ‘You will be fine, take our medicines on time’ or ‘May god bless and our pain will end sooner’. But in the case of mental pain you are the only suffer, with no one around you to share your pain, until or unless you share your pain with someone. You cry in agony, just praying to God to end this pain or you will die someday, it’s so huge for you to bear.

Physical pain is for once and for all, means you fall ill, you take medicines and your pain ends. But in the case of mental pain, pain never leaves you even though you take medicines.

So what you thinks is greater – the Physical pain or the Mental pain. Please share your thoughts.

Writer — Varun Porwal

Image Source – refocusingoureyes.com

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chattingwithspirit
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 16:01:30

    I read this post a few times, just to try and see if I had missed something. I think the problem is that people have misconceptions about physical pain.

    You say that “Physical pain is for once and for all, means you fall ill, you take medicines and your pain ends. But in the case of mental pain, pain never leaves you even though you take medicines”.

    Actually this isn’t a true statement of many peoples experience with physical pain.

    I have been chronically ill with an assortment of auto-immune diseases for over 18 years now, and the pain rarely ends for more than an hour or so. In all those years I have had only three consecutive weeks without pain, just three!

    There are no medicines, no painkillers, that work on the nerves that cause my pain. Pain clinics have been unable to offer any relief apart from offering drugs that can take the sharpness off the pains but also induce immense drowsiness to the point where I might as well have no life at all as I am asleep or drowsy all the time. I have to make a choice and I choose to have a clearer mind, be more aware, more alert to life, but I know that this means suffering disabling pain.

    Through these years I have experienced mental pain too, and again prescribed medicines are available, which also have side effects, and I have chosen not to go down that path. However, what I will say, is that with the mental pain I was offered counselling, which was a massive benefit to me. I have never been offered any kind of emotional support in dealing with my physical pains and the ensuing disability.

    So, I have to say that I can’t comment on the ‘which is greater” question, because from my point of view, both types of pain are equally valid, equally life changing and equally unwelcome!

    I pray to our creator everyday to offer assistance to those in need, in whichever way they require it, as there are many ways in which people are suffering and they all need support and love.

    Reply

  2. Maxi Malone
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 16:46:28

    Today I have both physical and mental pain. There are two herniated discs in my neck that cause incredible pain; six months ago I lost my beloved husband of 35yrs.

    If I could only chose one to leave me, it would be the pain from the loss of my husband. I never knew anything could hurt so much, the suffering is unbearable.

    Blessings – Maxi

    Reply

  3. elenacaravela
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 19:50:33

    I don’t think that one can ultimately compare different kinds of pain. I feel for both of the people who have left comments. I think that what we can all agree is that we all seek freedom from pain in whatever form it takes, and hope that an offer of respite through acknowledgment and empathy helps sooth a little bit.

    Reply

  4. Wendy
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 00:29:14

    Varun Porwal This text is invaluable. {Wherecan I find out more?|Is there a second post on this|Is there more to come}

    Reply

Leave a Reply

