Do it Anyway – Mother Teresa


People are often unreasonable, irrational, and self-centered.
Forgive them anyway.

If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives.
Be kind anyway.

If you are successful, you will win some unfaithful friends and some genuine enemies.
Succeed anyway.

If you are honest and sincere people may deceive you.
Be honest and sincere anyway.

What you spend years creating, others could destroy overnight.
Create anyway.

If you find serenity and happiness, some may be jealous.
Be happy anyway.

The good you do today, will often be forgotten.
Do good anyway.

Give the best you have, and it will never be enough.
Give your best anyway.

You see, in the final analysis, it is between you and God.
It was never between you and them anyway.

Image Source – Time.com

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. khushjenny
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 20:40:52

    Inspiring Post 🙂 .. You are doing really a great work by inspiring people 🙂

    Reply

  2. सतीश
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 12:06:46

    Nice Post, Why expect return, just do it because of the joy it gives to you. Keep it up!

    Reply

  3. malinymohan
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 16:32:37

    oh that was an enlightening read ! happy new year 🙂

    Reply

  4. Siju C Antony™ (@sijucantony)
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 09:31:50

    Have been through this long back, yet felt so good being through it once again 🙂

    Reply

  5. Judy
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 12:04:24

    I should stick this on my heart….it is an excellent post! I love the last two lines…so powerful and true. Love the title…..

    Reply

  6. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 13:56:14

    I agree in the end it’s between you and Him. I have lived by my heart, much to my detriment, but I’ve learned a lot. It’s all been worthwhile.

    Great post.

    Reply

  7. learningandgrowing02
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 15:59:08

    this is really good! I love it…
    Great post…
    check out my blog plz at learningandgrowing02.wordpress.com

    Reply

  8. Warrior Poet Wisdom
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 20:19:31

    I feel empowered! Thanks. 🙂
    Peace & grace,
    ~Miro

    Reply

  9. lscotthoughts
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 09:07:32

    This is wonderful! Thanks also for your visit and for following me! I will return the favor! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Sheree
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 08:23:14

    THE QUOTE “DO IT ANYWAY” IS FALSELY ATTRIBUTED TO MOTHER TERESA!!! This quote, called The Paradoxical Commandments, was written in 1968 by Dr. Kent M. Keith, a Christian student leader, in his handbook on youth leadership. Mother Teresa hung the quote on the wall of her orphanage in Calcutta without giving credit to Dr. Keith, and many have since falsely attributed the quote to her.
    http://www.kentmkeith.com/mother_teresa.html

    Reply

    • Robbin
      Jul 08, 2012 @ 19:59:49

      There are two versions of Do It Anyway. The one that Mother Teresa was supposed to have had on the wall of her orphanage wasn’t exactly the same version as Kent Keith’s. Mother Teresa’s version, (which may or may not have been written by her) does appear to be based on Kent Keith’s, but it was altered to be more spiritual. Kent Keith’s is secular, not spiritual. This link has both versions and does give Kent Keith credit for his version.
      http://prayerfoundation.org/mother_teresa_do_it_anyway.htm

      Reply

  11. RadhaaV
    May 11, 2012 @ 02:02:20

    Very Well Said

    Reply

  12. Michelle Chandler
    Jul 28, 2012 @ 04:22:48

    Maybe people don’t have anyone to give them inspiration or encouraging words. This will help me!

    Reply

  13. KIRTIRAJ SINGH
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 20:35:27

    My Inspiration of doing anything above said is love to do it any away………..

    Reply

  14. Kirtiraj Lekhraj Singh
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 20:38:24

    My Inspiration of doing anything above said is love to do it any away………

    Reply

  15. Elizabeth Tisay 76
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 04:58:53

    Thank you dear Mother Theresa. Your words are calming and remind us to do good even though it is hard to at times.

    Be loving and forgiving and happy. Forget the past as my Lola Noring would say. Be in love with today and all the future holds.

    Reply

  16. Johnson Augustine
    Jul 03, 2013 @ 16:19:25

    thank you dear mother theresa you light my mind again and to think more about who I am? and what’s my responsibility to my GOD of heaven who creates all of these

    Reply

  17. Coconu Lubricant
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 21:24:09

    Very descriptive post, I liked thatt a lot. Will there be a part 2?

    Reply

  18. inspirational quote about life
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 22:10:40

    Quality content is the secret to attract the users to visit
    the web page, that’s what this web site is providing.

    Reply

  19. Chase
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 09:26:16

    I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not positive whether or not this submit
    is written through him as nobody else realize such precise approximately my problem.
    You’re wonderful! Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a comment